Christian Warriors Online
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

HomeHome  GalleryGallery  SearchSearch  Latest imagesLatest images  RegisterRegister  Log inLog in  

Who am I....Ambulance Dispatchers Creed

Go down 
2 posters
AuthorMessage
Ladyfire
Co-Admin
Co-Admin
Ladyfire

Female
Number of posts : 435
Registration date : 2007-12-09

Who am I....Ambulance Dispatchers Creed Empty
PostSubject: Who am I....Ambulance Dispatchers Creed   Who am I....Ambulance Dispatchers Creed EmptyWed Dec 19, 2007 4:31 pm

This hangs in our office at work. The author of it is unknown. I am an Ambulance Communications Officer - This is who I am...

I am the voice that calms the mother into breathing life back into her infant son. I am the invisible hand that holds and comforts the elderly man who woke up this morning to find his wife of fifty years has passed away during the night. I am the friend who talks the disgruntled teenager out of ending her own life. I sent help when you had your first automobile accident.

I am the one who tries to obtain the information from callers to ensure that the scene is safe for those I dispatch, all the while anticipating the worst and hoping for the best. I am the psychologist who readily adapts my language and tone of voice to serve the needs of my callers, with compassion and understanding.

I am the ears that listen to the needs of all those I serve. I have heard the screams of faceless people I never will meet nor forget. I have cried at the atrocities of makind and rejoiced at the miracles of life. I was there, though unseen by my comrades in the field during the most trying emergencies. I have tried to visualize the scene to coincide with the voices I heard. I usually am not privy to the outcome of a call and so I wonder....